• About Us

    National Honor Society logoThe National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.

    Today, it is estimated that more than one million students participate in NHS activities. NHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada. Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.


    The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) officially established NHS in 1921. Though many local and regional honor societies existed prior to 1921, no nationwide organization had been founded. Under the leadership of Dr. Edward Rynearson, principal of the Fifth Avenue High School in Pittsburgh, the organization grew from the original Alpha Chapter at the Fifth Avenue School to more than 1,000 chapters by 1930. Equipped with a constitution, an emblem and motto, and a group of dedicated principals as coordinators, the new NHS organization quickly developed into one of the country's leading educational groups.

    Four main purposes have guided chapters of NHS from the beginning: to create enthusiasm for scholarship; to stimulate a desire to render service; to promote leadership; and to develop character in the students of secondary schools. These purposes also translate into the criteria used for membership selection in each local chapter.

  • NHS


    Salamanca High School

    National Honor Society  
    Advisors: Mrs. Brooke Canale and Mrs. Lynnette Magiera

    47th Annual Recogition Dinner
    SHS NHS Group Photo

    2017-2018 Inductee's:
    Front row: l-r Sarah Sawicki, Allysen Steckman, Naiomi Ullman, Nora Warrior, Elizabeth Stewart, Karomi Whitcomb and Emily Koniak. Back row: l-r - Brandon Milanowski, Nyles Panus, Haley Pond, Sesilliya Slade, George Gillman and Jersey Larweth. 

    All 2017-2018 Members:
    Michelle Pierce, Caryn Miller, Marijayne Schwartz, Savannah Wujastyk, Ashley Siperek, McKenzie Rider and Maria Howard
    Middle Row: Mrs. Brooke Canale, Nora Warrior, Sarah Sawicki, Allysen Steckman, Naiomi Ullman, Elizabeth Stewart, Karomi Whitcomb, Emily Koniak and Mrs. Lynn Magiera Back row l-r: Brandon Milanowski, Nyles Panus, Haley Pond, Sesilliya Slade, George Gillman and Jersey Larweth. 

    2016-2018 Inductee's

    Front row (l-r) Mrs. Helen Keefe, NHS Advisor, Brynn Harrington, Tiffany Nary, Courtney Sherwood, Esperanza Rodriguez, Lauren Harvey, Michelle Pierce, Mrs. Brooke Canale, NHS Advisor. Back row (l-r) McKenzie Rider, Emma Isaac, Maria Howard, Meagan Martin, Nathan Morris, Caryn Miller, Kayla Kovacs, Marijayne Schwartz, Madalyn Harrington, Ashley Siperek and Savannah Wujastyk.



    National Honor Society Members
    May 3, 2017
    Annual NHS Dinner 
    Award Winners 
     award winners
    L-R: Tiffany Nary - Scholastic Excellence Award, Courtney Sherwood - Distinguished Service Award and Emma Isaac - Outstanding Chapter Member 


  • Salamanca High School - Teacher of the Year for Excellence in Teaching

    1994 - Walter Clopp
    1995 - Thomas Enright
    1996 - Sally Olow
    1997 - Carol Anderson & Patrick Callaghan
    1998 - Debra Eysaman
    1999 - Gerald Peinkofer
    2000 - Vickey Zelazny
    2001 - Timothy Baird
    2002 - Christopher Siebert
    2003 - Michelle Hill
    2004 - David Doty
    2005 - Lynette Magiera
    2006 - Nancy Middaugh
    2007 - Gerald Musial
    2008 - Geoffrey Dietrich
    2009 - Richard Morton
    2010 - Rebecca Nannen
    2011 - Kim Dry
    2012 - Stacey Singer
    2013 - Lisa Monacelli
    2014 - Christopher Botsford
    2015 - Alexis Roesser
    2016 - Polly Hanson
    2014 - James Grey Nannen
    2015 - Alexis Roesser
    2016 - Polly Hanson
    2017 - 
    2018 - Scott Bean

    TOY 1


     TOY 2