SCCSD Chapter of the National Honor Society
    2019-2020 Chapter Officers
    President - Justin BLakesslee
    Secretary - Emma Fiske
    Treasurer - Kohl Ambuske
    Under the sponsorship and supervision of the National Association of Secondary School Principals,
    the purpose of the NHS is to:
    * Create enthusiasm for scholarship
    * Stimulate a desire to render service
    * Promote leadership
    * Develop character in its members
    To maintain membership in NHS students must keep their cumulative average above 89.5% (core subjects must be maintained at 85% or better); continue to show good character traits in and outside of school; participate in at least one group sponsored service project and at least one individual service project.
    The selection process:
    In December, juniors and seniors whose unweighted, cumulative average is above 89.5% are notified that they meet the initial scholarship requirement for NHS membership.Then, each qualifying candidate is given an activity sheet to fill out with details of their extra-curricular activities, community service work, and leadership activities. Members are expected to demonstrate not only high academic standards, but also leadership, service and good character.
    The next component of the selection process is the faculty rating. All members of the faculty with knowledge of the candidates rate them on participation, responsibility, leadership capabilities, character and attitude towards their peers and teachers. Finally, a faculty selection committee reviews: the activity sheets, the faculty rating scores, the first marking period report cards, student transcripts, individual student attendance/tardiness, and determines the final selection of students to be "tapped" for membership.
    Congratulations to Salamanca High School National Honor Society 2014 Seniors: Courtney Yehl, Joe Hinman, and Haylei John !



    The Distinguished Service Award - Joe Hinman

    The Scholastic Excellence Award (highest combined SAT scores in one setting) - Haylie John

    Outstanding National Honor Society Member Award (voted on by NHS peers) - Courtney Yehl.


    Courtney also received the $1000 - National Honor Society Mary Elizabeth Eaton Scholarship Award.

    NHS County Dinner Award Winners!   
                                                                2014 Inductees
    New NHS Inductees
    McKenzie Whitmore, Haleigh Seibert, Ethan Kenyon, Jessica Fish, Katie Chamberlain 
    Excellence in Teaching Award:
    NHS members annually select a teacher to receive the award of "Excellence in Teaching".
    This honor was awarded to Mrs. Lisa Monacelli at the annual tapping ceremony in December 2013.
      NHS Teacher of the Year   

Last Modified on December 6, 2019