Board of Education

Contacting the Board of Education:
Theresa Ray 585-403-8649
Dale Colton 716-378-7260
Bradley Earley 716-378-2571
Sue Fries 716-945-3589
Kerry John 716-378-4538
Jessica Crouse 716-708-8242
District Clerk: Janet Koch - 716-801-1096

Salamanca City Central School District Board of Education 2021-2022

Salamanca City Central School District Board of Education 2021-2022

Front L-R: Bradley Earley, Dale Colton, Kerry John - Vice President, Theresa Ray - President,  Back L-R: Janet Koch - District Clerk, Jessica Crouse, Mark Beehler - Deputy Superintendent, Robert J. Breidenstein - Superintendent of Schools


Mrs. Theresa A. Ray (President)

Mrs. Theresa A. Ray

Headshot placeholder

Vacant Seat

Sue Fries

Sue Fries


Bradley Earlye

Bradley Earley


Kerry John

Kerry John


Jessica Crouse

Jessica Crouse

Dale Colton

Mr. Dale Colton


Janet Koch

Janet Koch

District Clerk

Robert J. Beidenstein

Robert J. Breidenstein
cell: 716-220-2815
Office: 716-945-2400 Ext. 4025

Superintendent of Schools

The Board’s powers and duties are derived from the State of New York Constitution, State laws, and regulations or rulings of the Commissioner of Education. All decisions are made by a majority vote of the Board in public session.

 The Board’s main areas of responsibility are to:
• Act as advocates for the educational interests of children
• Establish policies
• Set goals and objectives
• Hire the superintendent
• Develop an annual budget
• Establish & review programs
• Appoint all personnel
• Communicate the needs and progress with community

School Board Meetings:
That the first and third Tuesday (as needed) in the month be set for the regular monthly meeting and the regular monthly meeting/workshop at 5:30 p.m. The complete 2021-2022 Board of Education Regular Meeting and Regular Meeting/Workshop calendar is as follows:

  • July 13, 2021 Reorganization Meeting**

  • July 20, 2021

  • August 3, 2021

  • August 17, 2021

  • September 7, 2021

  • September 21, 2021

  • October 5, 2021

  • October 19 2021

  • November 16, 2021

  • December 7, 2021

  • January 4, 2022

  • January 18, 2022

  • February 1, 2022

  • March 1, 2022

  • March 15, 2022

  • April 19, 2022

  • May 3, 2022

  • May 17, 2022 Budget Vote/BOE Election

  • June 7, 2022

  • June 21, 2022


  • August 6-7, 2021 BOE Retreat Niagara Falls, NY

  • September 19-21, 2021 NAFIS Fall Conference DC

  • October 24-26, 2021 NYSSBA Convention NYC

  • November 9, 2021

  • December 1-4, 2021 NIISA Convention, Las Vegas, NV

  • January 18, 2022

  • March 13-15, 2022 NAFIS Spring Conference DC

  • June 6, 2022 Warrior Awards Banquet

That a special meeting of the Board of Education may be called by the President upon request of three members of the Board; that the Board shall transact no business at a special meeting except that for which it is called; that the clerk shall notify each member of the Board by electronic notice and/or phone not less than 24 hours prior to the time of the special meeting; that the time stipulated may be waived in an emergency situation by unanimous consent of the members of the Board.

Citizen involvement in public education is one of the cornerstones of our society. Your continuing interest and support will guarantee the excellence of our schools. Agendas are provided to visitors and an opportunity is provided during the course of the meeting for district residents who wish to address the Board. Go to the Agendas and Documentation page for a complete list of meeting minutes.

Agenda Items: If you wish to have an item placed on the agenda, please submit your request, in writing, to the Superintendent of Schools by Noon of the Tuesday preceding the meeting. Minutes of Board Meetings are posted on the District’s web page. TO SEE THE AGENDA FOR THE NEXT MEETING CLICK HERE. Documentation sent to the Board of Education for review at the meeting is also included at the agenda page.


Finance & Buildings & Grounds & Transportation:
Chair: Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations
Dale Colton, Kerry John, Theresa Ray
Alternate: Jessica Crouse 

Indigenous Education Committee: 
Chair: Superintendent
Kerry John, Jessica Crouse
Alternate: Dale Colton 

Curriculum Study Committee (District Comprehensive Educational Plan):
Chair: Deputy Superintendent
Dale Colton, Jessica Crouse, Barb Sande
Alternate: Sue Fries 

Strategic Planning Committee:
Chair: Superintendent
Sue Fries, Kerry John, Jessia Crouse
Alternate: Brad Earley 

Policy Review Committee:
Chair: District Clerk
D. Colton, B. Earley, S. Fries, K. John, M. McCune, T. Ray, B. Sande 

District Health & Wellness / Safety Committee:
Chair: Deputy Superintendent
Dale Colton, Brad Earley, Kerry John
Alternate: Barb Sande 

Visitation Committee:
D. Colton, B. Earley, S. Fries, K. John, J. Crouse, T. Ray, B. Sande 

Personnel, Instructional and Service Committee:
Chair: Superintendent
President: Theresa Ray, Vice President: Kerry John, 1 BOE Member Barb Sande
Alternate: Sue Fries 

Allegany-Cattaraugus School Boards Association:
Delegate: Dale Colton                                 Alternate:  Jessica Crouse

NYSSBA Legislative Liaison/Voting Delegate:
Delegate: Sue Fries                       Alternate:  Jessica Crouse

Budget Referendum and Election:

The election of members to the Board of Education is held at the same time as the annual vote on the school district budget. Board Members are elected “at-large” and represent the entire school district. Candidates for Board seats must have been residents of the school district for at least one year prior to the election, 18 years of age, U.S. citizens, qualified voters and able to read and write. Prospective candidates must file nominating petitions with the District Clerk.

Voter Qualifications:
To vote, persons must be U. S. citizens, 18 years of age, a district resident for thirty days immediately prior to the election, with their current address either correctly filed with the Board of Election in Little Valley, properly registered at the district's registration, or listed on the Seneca Nation Tribal Roll.

Those Native Americans who are properly registered and residing on the Allegany Reservation in the Steamburg or Coldspring area, for a period of thirty days preceding the election, which is located outside of such city school district, are eligible to vote in this school district's election and on the budget.